Pls help: need to install custom recovery so i can flash rom!

davidmagik

May 16, 2011
Visit site
pardon the ignorance. This is my first time rooting and i want to get it right. I unlocked my bootloader and gave myself superuser priveledges. yesterday

Anyway i just dowloaded the java and the android sdk, I subsequently updated it. I am following the instructions in the sticky from: "http://www.androidcentral.com/unlock-bootloader-and-install-su-and-cwm-nexus-s-4g-forums"

I am on the step where is says to:

"go into the Settings menu, then choose Applications > Development > USB Debugging. After you've done that, plug your phone into your computer and let it try to install all the drivers. It'll mostly succeed, but something will be missing. This is where PdaNet helps us out."

I installed pdanet on my windows pc because I saw it as a prerequisite instructions. I believe that it already installed necessary samsung drivers. My issue is that when I plugged my phone in to "let it try to install all drivers" I did not see that occur.

Is that normal? Am i safe to proceed in getting adb? Any help and insight is much

i want to flash dooderbut's 4.0.3 ics rom. and i am trying to install custom recovery so i can proceed with his instructions. as i said i have an unlocked bootloader and superuser privilidges.

pls help!!!!! i want to have ics goodness

beezy

Feb 27, 2010
Visit site
Try running the commands to see if the computer sees the phone
Code:
adb devices
that shoulld give you the serial number of your phone. If not tell us the error your getting.

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
pardon the ignorance. This is my first time rooting and i want to get it right. I unlocked my bootloader and gave myself superuser priveledges. yesterday