NS4G overheating

joker42179

May 19, 2010
Visit site
It seems my NS4G likes to get pretty hot while using it. The hottest it has gotten was last night playing Asphalt 6......got to about 46 degrees C. Does anyone else have this problem?? Should I bring it back to Sprint for an exchange??

May 25, 2011
Visit site
I just recently got a Nexus S but based on previous experience with my Pre-, 46C is a reasonable temperature for a mobile device to reach when it is doing something intensive like gaming. It is probably normal, but like I said, I am new to the NS4G and Android in general.

davem2421

Apr 19, 2011
Visit site
I'd take it in and have it looked at, mine has never gotten to the point where it was hot to the touch.

when I'm on conf calls on my phone for 30+ mins it does get warm but nothing that would indicate an issue.

QuasarZ

Apr 29, 2010
Visit site
Yes mine gets very hot. Are you looking at the battery temp? Is there another temp display? I have seen where my battery read 46C and the phone was hot, really hot. Maybe because I have a 'plasticy' case it can't 'breathe'? Who knows..But like you said, it is only when the phone is doing something intensive.

EDIT: BTW this is my second Nexus, I took the first one back because of the heat issue and signal issue and was just hoping for one better. Not the case

LocationDudeNYC

Jun 3, 2010
Visit site
I've noticed recently that my phone gets very hot. Sometimes 109F. Earlier today it was 107F. I wasn't doing anything with it. A reboot calmed it down. Are you guy's stock or rooted?

bend484

Dec 2, 2011
Visit site
Great to have someone to talk to ...... my ns4g has hit 114f , no joke, notice its the face screen hot to the touch ... this is with streaming or gaming, ..... no kernel or CPU mods, unrooted, mild Google app processes and stock battery, love to hear from you guys.

bend484

Dec 2, 2011
Visit site