Hi guys! Forgive me if this has been posted (didn't find a thread like this)...

My GS4 has a tiny stress crack on the back/battery cover. I have zero idea how that may have even happened, but it bugs me a lot. I hear that knockoff back covers, like the majority of those listed on eBay and Amazon, aren't good for reception because Samsung has something built in to theirs that is important for that, and NFC. I took a look at the inside of mine and there doesn't appear to be any sort of antenna or chip, but I'm no expert. Can anyone tell me what, if anything, the original cover that came with my phone needs to be used for? Otherwise, I'm going to try out a shiny new replacement, free of stress cracks.

Thanks!
    07-02-2013 02:37 PM
    Hi guys! Forgive me if this has been posted (didn't find a thread like this)...

My GS4 has a tiny stress crack on the back/battery cover. I have zero idea how that may have even happened, but it bugs me a lot. I hear that knockoff back covers, like the majority of those listed on eBay and Amazon, aren't good for reception because Samsung has something built in to theirs that is important for that, and NFC. I took a look at the inside of mine and there doesn't appear to be any sort of antenna or chip, but I'm no expert. Can anyone tell me what, if anything, the original cover that came with my phone needs to be used for? Otherwise, I'm going to try out a shiny new replacement, free of stress cracks.

Thanks!
    Hi and welcome. What color GS4 do you have? and NFC looks like a piece of black tape on the inside of the back cover. I found a website that has replacement backs.
    07-02-2013 04:45 PM
    I have the white one - link, please! Thanks for the reply!
    07-02-2013 06:04 PM
    I have a replacement extended battery for my SG4 and this scares me a lot. Did I remove a reception feature from the phone when I changed the back cover?

I bought this phone partly over reception issues I was having with my HTC EVO LTE...

Thanks!