Help me wrap my head around this (sprint network related)

BBPimp85

May 14, 2012
Visit site
I'm no expert in this field so please correct anything I'm saying wrong. So part of the network vision plan is to get rid of the iDen phones and use that 800Mhz frequency for LTE. I also understand that 800Mhz has better building penetration than it's current 1.9Ghz signal. But from my personal use of Nextel phones they had pretty bad service in call quality and signal strength. I was a Nextel customer before the merger with sprint. So I went from an i830 to a Samsung Blade and the differences in call quality and internet speed was apparent (I know the Blade was a 3g phone and the Nextel was not). So from personal experience Sprint's network was overall way better then Nextel's. Sprint must have thought so too because they offered hybrid phones using Nextel's D/C and Sprint's everything else. So my question is how is using the old Nextel frequency supposed to make the LTE network faster?

dchawk81

Sep 5, 2010
Visit site
Lower frequencies go farther but are more prone to disruptions. That means longer range/building penetration but lower call quality. Call quality doesn't apply to data.

Higher frequencies don't go as far but are less prone to disruptions, therefore cleaner call quality.

That's why Verizon calls sound garbled compared to Sprint yet their coverage is superior. They cover more places but they don't need as many towers to cover a given area completely. That allows them to expand at lower cost...filling out the country faster.

Reactions: BBPimp85

BBPimp85

May 14, 2012
Visit site
Nice. I get it. I wondered why I see so many Sprint towers and not as many Verizon towers. Dc you answered my questions. I fully understand now. Makes sense why Nextel sounded awful to me and had bad signal. So why didn't sprint use 3g data over 800Mhz as well like Verizon?

Reactions: Seditec

dchawk81

Sep 5, 2010
Visit site