Atrix SD card: Reads OK- but no apps writing to it??

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
Sorry if this is just stupid me... I'm new to Android, coming from a Blackberry Bold 9700.

I have an 8Gb sd installed and can add folders, files, etc via USB while installed in the Atrix.

When I unplug and go check "file manager" on the Atrix I can see and browse "SD card".

When I go to "Music" on the Atrix I can see and play all the songs I manually added to the SD card....

BUT-- my phone wont write ANYTHING to the SD card! Everything I download, every pic I take, every app's created files ALL go to "Internal Memory"!

Am I missing a setting or doing something wrong? How do I make something as simple as photos save to the SD? Go ahead, show me how ignorant I am.

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
OK... found the setting and got the camera to drop pics to the SD... so I know it works. Now can anyone help show me how to make the rest of the phone just default to the SD? Thanks! This forum has already helped a ton!

waltercln

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
did you try menu/settings/sdcard & phone storage
scroll to the bottom where it says storage location and change it to sd card?

KoukiFC3S

Oct 9, 2009
Visit site
The apps go to the internal storage. No way to have them in the SD card as of now.

Might be problematic in the future because some games install 1GB+ of data into the internal storage.

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
"did you try menu/settings/sdcard & phone storage
scroll to the bottom where it says storage location and change it to sd card?"

I did that. Kouki seems to be correct. I tried "App 2 SD" and that app sees the internal memory as the SD! So the SD isn't of much help I guess. Crazy.

jess.hickey

Nov 23, 2010
Visit site
menu/settings/SD Card & Phone Storage/