disable contacts from Facebook from showing up in my "contacts"

ShuckyD

Apr 18, 2011
Visit site
So I saw another thread on this forum about this, but it was only the same question, no answer so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I'm brand new to the Android OS, I went out and upgraded from my BJII to an Atrix 4G today (yea I had phones since that, but they died before my contract renewal was up so I had to fall back on my old BlackJack).. but I've always been a WinMo person until now, but I think I made the right choice.

I'm trying my best to get use to this, but when I go into my contacts or to dial someone since I have it linked to my facebook, linkedin, and 4 email accounts (google being the only one who I want to swap contacts with) it's showing people who are my Facebook friend and have a # posted... I cant stand this, is there a way to stop this from happening?

Tre Lawrence

May 13, 2010
Visit site
Go to your Settings, Accounts and Sync, and Manage Accounts. I believe you have to disable Facebook sync there.

You might also have to clear Contacts Storage in "Manage Applications" to purge the current sync first.

Terrigno

Italiano Papi
Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
You could do that. Or in the phone application, go to Settings>Display Contacts. And it will let you display your contacts only backed up through Google and not your facebook contacts. But if they are linked, it will show there picture.

ShuckyD

Apr 18, 2011
Visit site
OK, thanks for the replies, I am going to loko into the settings now, all my friends who have Android phones think I'm nuts, but I dont show a facebook app, so it must be motoblur doing this. I would still like to have facebook accessible, but if it means not through motoblur I'm fine with that.

ShuckyD

Apr 18, 2011
Visit site
i dont mean to be dense, but I dont even see a settings area in the phone app (that is if the phone app is what launches when you click the green call button)