Froyo/Odin Help

brandon261

Oct 5, 2010
Visit site
I'm very new at android and need help installing Froyo on my Captivate. I don't know if there is a missing step or if I'm doing this wrong.

First I download both links on the XDA forums and once it's complete I turn off my phone and remove the SIM card. Next I hold both volume buttons the plug it into my laptop with the Odin program I just downloaded open. My screen will stay on "downloading...." forever but Odin never makes a move.

Anyone have a solution? please help.

Jul 22, 2010
Visit site
First step put phone in debug mode. Open Odin. Then enter it into download mode. Odin should recognize it. hit start or flash (can't remember which one it says). It'll take a couple minutes then walah, froyo on the cappy

jflexe99

Droids!
Sep 4, 2010
Visit site
You might be disapointed after getting used to it. I am, I am reflashing back to 2.1, to get OCLF and rooted.

2.2 looks awesome, once they fix the bugs and fix lag, it will be great, even with its slowness it scored a 910 which was faster than my stock captivate on 2.1 update 1.

Just give you forewarn, might want to wait till official 2.2 comes out. Possibly in the next 2 weeks.

Jul 22, 2010
Visit site
You might be disapointed after getting used to it. I am, I am reflashing back to 2.1, to get OCLF and rooted.

2.2 looks awesome, once they fix the bugs and fix lag, it will be great, even with its slowness it scored a 910 which was faster than my stock captivate on 2.1 update 1.

Just give you forewarn, might want to wait till official 2.2 comes out. Possibly in the next 2 weeks.

try reflashing. I have NO lag. ZERO. Haven't encountered any bugs either. Might have just been a bad install

brandon261

Oct 5, 2010
Visit site