ROM Questions

anon(182107)

Feb 20, 2011
Visit site
I'm helping someone flash their AT&T Captivate. They flashed the Continuum 5 Gingerbread RC2 via Odin.

I'm wondering since this is experimental 2.3 is it highly dangerous? To get back to froyo just use regular Odin one click right?

He's also been wondering about the custom kernels and modems. I know almost nothing about GSM modems so is there any thing specific I should know about flashing radios?

What's a good ROM/kernel/modem recommendation for a total noob for good battery, and signal that's stable?

Been trying a few different ROMs and such but theres so many different combinations and I'm just looking for something easy and stable yet better than stock.

Sent from my Optimus One CDMA using Tapatalk

konazxiii

Sep 8, 2010
Visit site
I'm helping someone flash their AT&T Captivate. They flashed the Continuum 5 Gingerbread RC2 via Odin.

I'm wondering since this is experimental 2.3 is it highly dangerous? To get back to froyo just use regular Odin one click right?

2.3 is not dangerous, just new so the ROMs still have beta issues. The install process requires new bootlader as part of the install- if something goes wrong with the bootlader install, then yeah, you'll have a brick. Outside of those two issues, you should be fine.

Make sure if returning to stock with Odin use the one that is known as "One Click Odin". Do not use the version labeled "one click Odin with three button combo". That will screw things up. Also there is a stock ROM floating around somewhere that leaves the new bootloaders in place for safety reasons (they're backward compatible) .

He's also been wondering about the custom kernels and modems. I know almost nothing about GSM modems so is there any thing specific I should know about flashing radios?

What's a good ROM/kernel/modem recommendation for a total noob for good battery, and signal that's stable?