I am not trying to be redundant to the moderators but I was told to post this here instead of in the general forums. Here is the original post...
    "This just started today....I cant change USB setting or place my cappy into debugging mode So this means I cant reflash any new roms since I can't go into debug mode to connect to my computer...Hell even worse is I have a iMac so that makes it even harder! Argh! It was rooted when I bought it and there are still some files on the SD card that look like the files used to root..like Untitled.zip, clockworkmod, and Galaxy_S_Unlock...so is there any way to fix this just by handset alone?? Please help..I am very new to droid and am frustrated as hell that I can't easily sync with my computer...I don't want to go back to my iphone 4 but I may have to"
    Now I got a response from somebody giving me options to solve but I am looking for verification that this can be done on my device only w/o needing to use my computer. Here is his reply...

"You could apply an Clockworkmod update.zip that will allow you to get into recovery where you can install a custom (or stock) ROM and that will give you a fresh start.

First back up everything on your phone to your computer that's important to you as you will lose it. Then do a Master Clear/Factory Data Reset.

After backup and master clear is done you could download the file from the link I've included, along with the custom ROM of your choice, and you MUST rename it to say "update" (update.zip). Then reboot your phone into what I assume is stock recovery, select "install package" (you'll probably have to do that step twice in a row before it works). Once you get the green Clockwork Recovery screen select "install zip from sdcard" then select "choose zip from sdcard" and select the ROM you loaded with the update.zip.

After installing the new ROM (doesn't matter if it's stock or custom) I'd do another master clear just to be sure.