4.1 on Captivate??

GQ50

Jun 24, 2010
Visit site
A simple question. Why can't the Captivate run 4.1(Jelly Bean)? I see the Nexus S is getting rollouts of 4.1. Don't they both have the same hummingbird processors?:confused:

Voliam

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
I just read on Android and Me that a guy is running JB on a Captivate! I replied to him and asked if he could direct me to info about it. Hope to get a response from him!! Until then, I'm looking...

Voliam

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
Cody, I have read, and reread info on XDA (and a number of other sites), but have yet to find concise, step-by-step info (in one place). All the posts I have read are vague and seem to be written for folks who are well-versed with rooting/ flashing ROMs. While I am moderately technical with computers, I am a novice with rooting, and fear bricking my phone (paranoid with all the warnings).
I have also read a great deal of posts where folks like me are either ignored or berated for their stupidity.
I'm not expecting you or anyone else to hold my hand (by posting this), I just wanted to say that I have found rooting isn't as easy as so many claim it is.

fender7217

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
Yes there are, and they work perfectly as daily drivers.

Sent from my phone, there's probably typos.

And they're not just re-skins of a 4.0 ROM? I have a hard time believing the hardware of a Captivate, which is pretty outdated now, can legitimately run full-fledged 4.1

sliceruk

Aug 7, 2012
Visit site
I am running JB on captivate currently, been running it for a few weeks now. It's really smooth and fast. XDA - HellyBean for Cappy.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Android Central Forums

codycorexxx

Dec 3, 2010
Visit site