Aria vs. Captivate - Is Sense worth it?

cyraxx

Jul 26, 2010
Visit site
Hello all, I will be getting one of these two phones in a few weeks but I have yet to make a decision on which one. I've looked at a lot of reviews and it would seem to me that the Captivate is the better phone. However, I still feel drawn to the Aria simply because I love the way that HTC Sense looks. If I got the Captivate, would there be any way for me to make my home screen similar to that of the Aria (flip clock + weather)? I have no experience with Android apps and widgets, so I don't really know what is offered in the way of customizing the look of a phone's UI. Thanks for any input.

caliskimmer

Retired Moderator
Jul 11, 2010
Visit site
Captivate by far! It just so much more superior to the Aria in literally every aspect! A few people I know had a phone running Sense, checked out the Vibrant running Touchwiz (same as Captivate) and actually loved it.

cyraxx

Jul 26, 2010
Visit site
After watching the benchmark video for the Captivate, it's making me lean more and more towards it. My main concern now is how customizable the UI is. I'm not in love with the way TouchWiz is set up...how changeable are things/what widgets would you recommend to make it more visually appealing?

Joeybear23

May 13, 2010
Visit site
After watching the benchmark video for the Captivate, it's making me lean more and more towards it. My main concern now is how customizable the UI is. I'm not in love with the way TouchWiz is set up...how changeable are things/what widgets would you recommend to make it more visually appealing?

You could always use a different launcher, like LauncherPro.
The Captivate is a FAR superior device, and a few months down the road you will be kicking yourself if you get the Aria instead.

zthralls

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
I currently own a droid incredible and love the HTC sense. But defintely i would go with the Captivate.