Captivate not receiving text messages

G.murph

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site
Hello all. I know it says I am brand new here, but I have been browsing for a few months. Anyway, I recently received the captivate in the mail as a replacement for my samsung impression. It was working beautifully for the first week, but then last night I discovered that I was not receiving SMS messages (my friend on fb chat told me she sent me a few). I restarted my phone and bam, 7 unread messages spanning back over an hour. All the messages were sent from AT&T phones.

The phone has not been rooted, and the only apps on it are Pandora, Twitter, and Facebook. The problem only started occurring a few hours after I installed Facebook. I doubt that's the problem, but you can never be sure, it's not exactly a great app.

Any suggestions? I'm at a loss. I only have this phone after a 6 month ordeal with 4 impressions (with 3 different sim cards) not sending/receiving texts causing me to restart 4-5 times a day. I really don't want to have to do that here. Plus, how am I supposed to know when I am NOT receiving a message?

Raven71

Aug 4, 2010
Visit site
I'm having same problem but with email. I was getting no mail unless I turn the phone off and do battery pull. Then I get emails and also ones that I already deleted. Now I'm getting emails from a week ago. Then nothing until I pull the battery again. Then it sends everything I deleted already.
Even my maildroid is acting this way. I started having this problem 3 days after the ota update. I then did the oclf hoping it would fix the problem along with some other things. Well it helped with some of the other things but not the mail. So I keep looking for solutions but I think it is on the att servers and not the phone.

G.murph

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site
I actually have great service where I am, almost always between 2-4 bars of 3G service. Could the network still withhold messages regardless?