Get Android 2.2 from UK or Canada for AT&T Captivate ??

cdi_h

Jan 17, 2011
Visit site
I am a newbie to android. Owned an iphone before I got the AT&T Captivate. I am quite happy with the captivate except that we can't get android 2.2 here in US.

Here is my question:
Well if UK & Canada already got the Android 2.2? I am guessing these are set of files. Why can't we get those files from UK or Canada and load it on the AT & T captivate?

I understand the android 2.2 from UK or Canada would have their custom stuff like AT&T apps. But who cares.

As I said, I am newbie to android & may be I am over simplfying this...

If I had posted this in the wrong forum, please let me know.

Thanks

DroidXcon

Oct 21, 2010
Visit site
I am a newbie to android. Owned an iphone before I got the AT&T Captivate. I am quite happy with the captivate except that we can't get android 2.2 here in US.

Here is my question:
Well if UK & Canada already got the Android 2.2? I am guessing these are set of files. Why can't we get those files from UK or Canada and load it on the AT & T captivate?

I understand the android 2.2 from UK or Canada would have their custom stuff like AT&T apps. But who cares.

As I said, I am newbie to android & may be I am over simplfying this...

If I had posted this in the wrong forum, please let me know.

Thanks

there is froyo for the captivate, my girlfriend uses it and we are in jersey

here is the file you need FROYO

and watch this video on how to apply it

Reactions: LFriedhoff

cdi_h

Jan 17, 2011
Visit site
What I am trying to get at is, why we can't get a stock version of Android 2.2 released by Samsung to UK or Canada, get those files and load it on a AT&T Captivate? Is it possible?

DroidXcon

Oct 21, 2010
Visit site