Moving apps to SD Card, on Note2

ItsaRaid

May 24, 2010
Visit site
Several individuals have stated they can't move apps to the SD Card on the AT&T variant of the Note2.
Is this a widespread issue or random? If so, can someone give a more detailed explanation of what's going on, why and if it's fixable without rooting. Very surprised about this, we have some excellent review sites, hard to believe they would miss something like this.

ipaulr

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site
I would like to know more about this too. I was told by AT&T technical support that the OS does not yet support this. That none of the move to SD apps will work on the current OS. If you look at the setting screen for an app, you'll see that there is no move to SD option there.

I'm new to Android haven't used iPhones for 5 years. I sure would like to know more about move to SD as the internal memory on the note 2 is very limited.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Android Central Forums

maxburn

May 19, 2011
Visit site
I put in the other thread that this is due to the way android security has evolved under jellybean and maybe earlier. Pretty sure that's the reason anyway.

cmallow

Sep 26, 2011
Visit site
This is a Samsung limitation. It shows internal memory as sdcard0 and your actual SD card as extsdcard. My GS3 was the same way.

ipaulr

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site
So is this likely to be fixed in an upcoming OS release?

cmallow

Sep 26, 2011
Visit site
Since my note 10.1 has the same setup, and I doubt Samsung thinks it's an issue. Remembering back, I think even my GS2 had the same limitation.

Sent from my GT-N8000 using Android Central Forums

ItsaRaid

May 24, 2010
Visit site
It would be nice if there was some dialog or explanation of Why you cant move apps to the SD card anymore. Who or what is responsible for this issue? Samsung or JB? Is it fixable or how do you get the issue addressed?