CM7 on the SGII

dingbat005

Sep 27, 2011
Visit site
So as I am spending a ton of time adding apps and personalizing the phone, I am wondering if perhaps I should install CM7 sooner than later. I am new to android (been desperately awaiting the SGII since march) and like the idea of having open control, but not sure it is really necessary with GB and Touchwiz. any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Emcee

Jan 22, 2011
Visit site
So as I am spending a ton of time adding apps and personalizing the phone, I am wondering if perhaps I should install CM7 sooner than later. I am new to android (been desperately awaiting the SGII since march) and like the idea of having open control, but not sure it is really necessary with GB and Touchwiz. any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

I wouldn't yet, they're still working out the kinks. You can keep track of that at XDA.

At least for now, I'm just fine with stock + root.

Reactions: dingbat005

dingbat005

Sep 27, 2011
Visit site
Thanks... thinking on this more, let me refine my question - most of the "why root" threads are pretty old so looking for more of an update - why root this phone, given all of the advancements that the software has made on the GSII compared to a lot of other phones?

Kevin OQuinn

AC Team Emeritus
May 17, 2010
Visit site
The main reason to root right now would be to remove the bloat. Give it a week or two and we'll probably have CM7 nightlies (don't hold me to that as I'm just guessing).

Gottimafia#AC

Apr 1, 2011
Visit site