Battery drain while phone is OFF?

phositadc

Mar 9, 2010
Visit site
I bought two AT&T GS2's on Friday - one for me, one for my wife. I left my wife's at my office over the weekend because I wanted to test mine and make sure we were going to keep them before I gave hers to her. I turned her GS2 off before I left the office on Friday evening and put it back in its box for safe keeping. Battery reading was 56% (I remember because that is exactly the same reading that mine was when I left).

I arrive at the office this morning around 8:30am. Try to turn her phone on. It won't turn on. I hold the power button for various different amounts of time, look at the instruction manual to make sure I'm not missing something, etc. Nothing. So I plug in the charger, and sure enough, shows that the battery is empty, and it starts charging the thing.

Now, I'm no expert, but I think I should be concerned that the battery went from 56% to dead in 2 days, while the phone was OFF the entire time. Heck, even if the phone was somehow NOT off, I would probably expect it to last 2 days with ZERO use. At any rate though, I'm 100% sure the phone was off.

Anybody else experience anything similar? Massive battery drain while the phone is off? My plan is to go ahead and let it charge completely, let my wife use it tonight when I bring it home, record the battery percentage before we go to bed, then turn her phone off tonight and see how much it drains.

Any input appreciated. Must admit that I'm very tempted to go exchange it and not even bother testing it more, because I'm pretty darn sure there's gotta be something wrong for the battery to drain like that when the phone is off.

Oh, and just for the record, the phone had never been used. When I turned it off on Friday, it was on the little "Touch Android to Begin Screen" -- we never even entered her Gmail information. So there's absolutely no chance that some rogue app was doing anything.

phositadc

Mar 9, 2010
Visit site