Members;

I must say this is a great site. I am new to Android coming from IOS (jailbroken). I love the Android platform and my Galaxy SII running on AT&T. I want to root the phone and get a ROM but I am looking for basically a stock ROM as really all I want to do is tether. I am hoping one of you can/will recommend a stable basically stock ROM? I am feeling comfortable with rooting the phone based on this forum and videos I have been watching, but a step by step guide recommendation might make me more confident.

Thanks in advance.
    11-07-2011 09:44 AM
    I guess I could root it and leave the stock ROM on the phone. Then get the tethering app along with Titanium Backup?
    11-07-2011 10:11 AM
    I guess I could root it and leave the stock ROM on the phone. Then get the tethering app along with Titanium Backup?
    That is exactly what I did. Touchwiz 4.0 is working fine for me and if you root with the stock ROM you don't get the exclamation point on bootup. See #2 root option here on XDA **AT&T SGS2 Frequently Asked Questions(FAQS)** - xda-developers The link for #2 (root with stock ROM) is more complicated than it should be since their directions are mostly for Linux users. Rooting with Odin (a Windows program) is very easy. Dig through the XDA posts to know what you are getting into. I spent a few hours reading through and once I was ready to go it took about five minutes to root with the stock ROM.
    11-07-2011 12:09 PM
    @ mtucker....thank you for the info.

Any other suggestions out there?

If I root, do I have to put ROM on it if I am fine with Touchwiz 4.0? Can I simply root and that is it? Again, I am looking to tether right now....the other parts of my phone I am happy with....at this point.

Thx!!
    11-07-2011 12:58 PM
    @ mtucker....thank you for the info.

Any other suggestions out there?