How to Root The AT&T Galaxy S3 (From The Sprint Forums)

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
I'm completely new to this so I apologize if these are things most people already know the answers to. 1. Does this method clear my phone of everything? Or will my apps, contacts, etc still be there? 2. What exactly does the custom recovery do?

If you do it correctly your apps and data should remain intact. Custom recovery replaces stock recovery. It has many more options such as the ability to flash (install) custom features and roms and make backups of your system. Stock recovery is limited to doing a factory reset and flashing official ota updates.

anon(631531)

Jan 5, 2012
Visit site
Now that my phone is back to normal, thanks to your guide, i may just give your guide to rooting a try. I want to alter the notification settings, to include a sound for "sent mail", aka the swoosh sound like on my wife's iPhone. I would also like to add a stable rom with 4.2.1 or 4.2.2. If this is possible, please let me know. Thanks.

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Now that my phone is back to normal, thanks to your guide, i may just give your guide to rooting a try. I want to alter the notification settings, to include a sound for "sent mail", aka the swoosh sound like on my wife's iPhone. I would also like to add a stable rom with 4.2.1 or 4.2.2. If this is possible, please let me know. Thanks.

Sounds very possible but you could do that on a stock phone as well. I can't recommend a ROM for you though, as I don't have the AT&T phone so I haven't tried any of the ROMs.

anon(631531)

Jan 5, 2012
Visit site
Sounds very possible but you could do that on a stock phone as well. I can't recommend a ROM for you though, as I don't have the AT&T phone so I haven't tried any of the ROMs.