Galaxy Nexus or Galaxy S III

scottsglock17

Jun 30, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone. I am making the switch from iOS to Android, and I am torn as to which device to get. I was thinking of either the Galaxy Nexus or the Galaxy S III. I am new to Android, and I am sure there will be a learning curve. Any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance. :)

locote25

Jun 22, 2012
Visit site
Both of them are beautiful devices...... Cameras( front and back) are waaaaaay better in the GS3.. But with the nexus you get that stock ICS experience.... No carrrier apps... Just like the iphone. Also On android updates the first devices to b updated is the Nexus..... Now the GS3 has more features like Smart Stay, etc. I would strongly recommend go to YouTube and watch some reviews and comparison videos.

Sent from my HTC One X using Android Central Forums

dmmattix

Dec 5, 2011
Visit site
Nexus

Plus:
Jelly Bean now
OS updates very timely
Carrier Independence
No vendor skin applied to stock Jelly Bean experience (Touch-Wiz)

Minus:
Not so great camera
Not so great processor
No LTE - Ever
No expandability (no MicroSD card slot)

Galaxy SII
Plus:
Better processor
Better screen (I hate saying this because it is so subjective)
LTE (if your area supports it and it is expanding rapidly in AT&T land)
MicroSD card capability for expandability

Minus:
ICS and probably 5 months before Jelly Bean
Touch-Wiz
Bloatware (Vendor and Carrier add on apps)

If you are the impatient type who can't wait for Jelly Bean then Nexus is your choice unless you want to root and custom ROM the brand new SII. The reason I am going with SII is many of the minuses of the Nexus are permanent (no LTE, no MicroSD, 5Megapixel camera) while many of the major minuses of the SII are fixable (no Jelly Bean, Touch-Wiz) with patience and a third party launcher.

Just my take but both would be major steps up coming from a BB9800...

Mike

Last edited:
Reactions: scottsglock17

RyDawgBoston