Group Texting Help!!

Anthony212

Jul 2, 2012
Visit site
Heres my problem, I just switched from blackberry and so far the s3 is an awesome phone. Now my friends and I use group text to make plans and stuff. I did notice that with this new phone I don't get any group texts, just individual, meaning I would have to respond to each and every person separably instead in one big conversation. Is there an option to turn on group messaging? Or do I need to download something?

mfriedman79

Jun 30, 2010
Visit site
The stock messaging ap doesn't support group text as far as i am aware. I believe handcent sms supports it and goSMS does as well.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

jcp007

Trusted Member
May 17, 2012
Visit site
I am also new to Android coming from BB where BBM was great. Is ChatOn only for different Android devices? I thought it was a cross-platform app.

Anthony212

Jul 2, 2012
Visit site
The stock messaging ap doesn't support group text as far as i am aware. I believe handcent sms supports it and goSMS does as well.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

ok thats great but now my main question is, does everyone need to have the app in order for it to work or will it just take over my current stock message app

mfriedman79

Jun 30, 2010
Visit site
ok thats great but now my main question is, does everyone need to have the app in order for it to work or will it just take over my current stock message app

Handcent and goSMS are message app replacements and work the same as the stock app except with additional features. So no they do not require other people to have them installed to use them. GoSMS does have a GoChat option for other users of the application, but I usually disable that.

dfb8085

Dec 16, 2010
Visit site