Stop Gmail from syncing ALL contacts to phone. ONLY want Phone contacts.

LionheartedNJ

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
I'm a new android user, I've have been dealing with Iphones for about 4 years now so this is a big switch for me and I'm a tech/gadget type of guy so I thought I would be able to pick up on it quick. I'm about 3 weeks into using my Galaxy S3 and I'm still confused about some things I thought I already gotten the hang of.

I had a problem switching my contacts from my Iphone to my Galaxy 3S. so after doing a little bit of searching I figured out to add my contacts to my contact list on my gmail account I have linked to my phone. Only problem with this is that I use my gmail for business and when I add a new email to my contacts it gets synced to my phone as well. This is super annoying, I only want phone numbers in my phone. I did some more searching and figured out a solution to just "stop synch" on my phone. This solved the problem but what I noticed is that I don't get my emails as fast as I used to or sometimes not at all. I use more than just Gmail, I have yahoo, icloud email accounts as well so I don't use the "Gmail app" for that reason. I use the Default Mail app that my phone came with. I have it where the phone is searching every 15mins for email but since I "stopped syncing" I don't really ever get them unless I refresh the mail app. I tried to upload my contacts onto my Sim card but it only uploaded half of the contacts. Would anyone know why is that?

How do I just have all my phone contacts displayed on the phone and be able to add more contacts onto the phone but not deal with gmail synching the contacts that I add onto gmail being synced onto my phone?