This is the easiest way to root the LG Phoenix / Thrive

donavan

May 18, 2011
Visit site
I don't exactly understand what froyo is. Can someone please explain that and how to get it? I'm new to this, but I want to root my Phoenix because all those apps that came with it take up too much memory. Grrr.
Froyo v2.2 is (was) the stock version of android that came on the phone. If you have done any updates to the phone this may no be true any longer you could possibly have Gingerbread v2.3(though not likely).

Okay, I used B for the first step, but it doesn't have an unknown sources test... what do I do?
If you enabled the unknown sources then you should be able to move on to the next step and just install gingerbreak and away you go.

can anyone tell me the steps to root a lg phoenix 505
I suggest you actually read the first post as that what the whole point of this thread is. I take you step by step through how to root your phone.

desilva

Dec 14, 2011
Visit site
Donavan - I really appreciate how you made it so simple for us to root our phones. I wish you would write a how to, so that we can take it further. There is so much information here that it gets very confusing. I for one, have a rooted Thrive with the LG update to Froyo 2.2.2. I'd like to get a stable gingerbread on it or even ICS if battery life and all work well. But all this new baseband old baseband stuff has just really puzzled me. Months ago I read everything but seeing as I really didn't know what I am doing I did nothing. I watched and waited like everybody for help. Now that Ajen has solved the problems, I am looking for someone to write a how to as easy to follow as your post "This is the easiest way to root the LG Phonenix/Thrive.

When you get some free time would you consider making a dummies guide?

donavan

May 18, 2011
Visit site