WOW CyanogenMod!

rickm8384

Mar 7, 2011
Visit site
My G2x is usable and fun again! Cyanogenmod 7.1 is excellent. Tops Ultimate G2x by a mile! I just hope it doesn't wear down as the days go on like Ultimate did. At first Ultimate worked like a charm but then it started SLOWINGGGGGGGGG DOWWWWWNNNNNN. But now all is great again with CM7. I'm ecstatic. Whats the best kernal to pair with CM7? Anyone know?

Pear

May 18, 2011
Visit site
Can you post some screenshots. Also, what do you mean by kernal to pair? How do you update your kernel? I am extremely new to this. Also, if you install a custom ROM does it automatically change the android version depending on the rom?

rickm8384

Mar 7, 2011
Visit site
Yeah if I have a chance today I will post some screen shots. All Mods are based off of a version of Android. For example, Ultimate G2x was based off of Android 2.2.2. CM7 is based off of 2.3.4. SO yes, to answer your question based on the mod you install your version of Android will change.

As for Kernel, I'm not sure I completely understand what it is, but I do know that certain kernels allow you to overclock your CPU. Faux Kernel actually allows the G2x to go as high as 1.5ghz stable. Maybe someone else with more advanced Android knowledge can give you a better explanation of exactly WHAT a Kernel is.

tinatina

Jul 13, 2011
Visit site
i wanna try this as i'm getting pretty annoyed with my g2x...any tutorials on how to put the cm7.1 mod on a stock g2x...i've never done anything like this before, but i think i can do it with a good set of directions...

thebizz

phone addict
Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
I ran cm7.1 for a while, now I'm back on froyo until I hear that gps is fixed and I don't have apn issues with it I'll stick with an oc froyo build. Plus dark and sinister had been running like a dream havent seen a reboot and very few lags. where as on cm I would have to constantly hard reboot my phone to get data back at work

tinatina

Jul 13, 2011
Visit site