Nexus S or HTC Desire S

youagain#AC

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
Hey everyone. I'm new to the whole Android scene. Currently a Blackberry user so I usually park myself at Crackberry.com.

I've been holding off moving to touchscreen devices because I never managed to get the hang of typing on them and I'm one who doesn't like predictive text. But I suppose you cant improve something unless you give it a go.

Having considered everything I've decided I won't be an Apple fan boy and Android is the way to go. I've narrowed my choice of device to the Nexus or the Desire S. They seem pretty similar spec wise and I'm having a hard time deciding so your input would be useful.

I'm drawn to the Nexus S because quite frankly I prefer a more minimalist style and the stock Android gives me that. The Desire seems to have the better quality product with the alumunium casing. Kinda stuck.

Any advice appreciated.

Newbie out :)

thedunn805

Jul 28, 2010
Visit site
Personally I'd go with the Nexus S. You'll get updates first and its vanilla Gingerbread. But if your new to android you might want to go with the Desire S. Sense UI is a much more user friendly Android.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk

I Monarch

Apr 18, 2011
Visit site
90% of people won't be able to tell the difference between FroYo and Gingerbread. I doubt you'll be unhappy with either purchase. The main deciding factors in a comparison such as these should be the screen and UI. Stock vs Sense is a big debate, but most people will like the benefits from HTC's implementations.

The Nexus S' Super AMOLED screen really makes a big difference in color reproduction, and it's definitely my favorite display. Price can also make a big difference, if you can get a subsidy on either one.

youagain#AC

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
Price isn't an issue primarily because offline both the Desire S and the Nexus S are retailing at the same price.