Discussion for - Root, Recovery, and ROm without touching a computer

cognus

Jan 28, 2011
Visit site
Questions and thanks

Thanks so much for posting the stickys on rooting in the Optimus T bin...
The phone is still a tad new to us T-mobile orphans.... Not a bad phone though, I'm finding.

So I got rooted OK no hitches, but there was one detail not covered that I wanted to ask about: When Z4 runs, it asks if a Temporary, or Permanent root is desired. Not knowing, I picked "Temporary". In this case it does not reboot the system, its just "on" presumably.
Would you please clarify the use of the two modes?

Secondly, I'm trying to do backup now, your Phase II posting.
I do not understand the following opening instruction [cause I'm new to the phone, and novice at linux/droid]:
"Open any field you normally type text into such as a text message and long press in the input field. A menu will ask you to select an input method, you want android"

I don't normally TYPE any text at all so don't know what app I have to follow your instruction. Secondly, why does it matter? I'm just curious...

cognus

Jan 28, 2011
Visit site
also two ordinary admin questions:
in Term mode, is there a way to set the default font size to bigger???? wow thats tiny on this small screen.... subject to error...

Also, - is there a better keyboard than the default one that I could download for these types of su tasks?

cognus

Jan 28, 2011
Visit site
Halted at a dangerous place: need help: