Hey guys.

I'm a medical student (heading into 3rd year) looking to get my first smartphone. I've been scouring the web trying to decide which one to go with and I still can't make a clear decision. I'm not crazy about Apple (or the fact that the 32GB iphone 4 costs $300) but everyone around me is telling me to just go ahead and get it. I'm trying to decide if any of the droid phones (mainly looking at the Atrix, Inspire, and Infuse) would be a good buy. Here's what I'm looking for:

Apps: I want to be able to use medical apps and it seems like Android just hasn't caught up to Apple there. On the other hand, it seems like the major ones are available for droid so it might not be an issue for me, because I'm still a student. Are there any medical students/doctors here who can weigh in on this?

Battery life: I'm really concerned about this, because I don't have time to charge my phone throughout the day. Especially in the case of the Inspire, which seems to have the worst battery, I think that might be a deal breaker. However, as I understand it, you can cut down on the bloat and increase battery life by rooting or other things that you can't do on the iPhone. I'm not afraid to do a little rooting/customization, but I don't want to have to do anything too complicated or risk messing up the phone. From what I read it appears that the Inspire and the Atrix are hard to root?