o4liberty

Dec 9, 2009
Visit site
I wear my watch daily and for the third time this year it detected me being in AFib. Anyone with this problem or just any heart issue should wear one my cardiologist always recommends them.

Just figured I put this out there in case it can help someone else.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
It'd be important for a doctor to review the actual EKG tracing. I know the Galaxy Watch 3 received FDA approval as an EKG device, but I'd still wonder how accurate its interpretation is. For example, if a person had frequent premature atrial contractions (which would not be a-fib), I wonder if a watch like that might incorrectly read it as a-fib.

This is also why just feeling an irregular pulse wouldn't necessarily mean a-fib.

kbboykin

Jan 26, 2011
Visit site
Correct, I'm a physician and you cannot diagnose A-fib by merely taking a pulse. There many irregular hear beats that would give an irregular pulse, including PAC as B. Diddy said, heart-block, Wenkebache, just to name a few. The GA2 can suggest A-fib based on the baseline p waves, pr interval, but should be confirmed with a 12 lead EKG. Like the fruit watch, it suspects it and warns you to get checked.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Correct, I'm a physician and you cannot diagnose A-fib by merely taking a pulse. There many irregular hear beats that would give an irregular pulse, including PAC as B. Diddy said, heart-block, Wenkebache, just to name a few. The GA2 can suggest A-fib based on the baseline p waves, pr interval, but should be confirmed with a 12 lead EKG. Like the fruit watch, it suspects it and warns you to get checked.