Be gentle, I'm another refugee

dkweston

May 22, 2012
Visit site
My trusty Blackberry died last week after giving me weeks of faithful service. I replaced it with a used Droid X2 I picked up on eBay which I plan to use on PP. (Yeah...I'm cheap.)
I've got a couple of tablets, a Archos 80-G9 running ICS and a really beat up old Coby running Gingerbread so I'm not a complete newbie. This is, however, my first Android phone.
I've already picked up some great tips by browsing the forums but I'm sure I'll have questions.
Thanks in advance for all the help.
dkw

anon(94115)

Banned
Nov 29, 2010
Visit site
Welcome to AC!

I do not know if the X2 has it, but to get the most out of an older phone you should look into putting Cyanogen on it. They really help to make the phones go a bit further than they were intended.

EDIT: Well I did a quick check, CM is still in beta so it isnt really ready for prime time. I can say that I have used ROMs from this guy (and the Eclipse Line) a ton and he always does good work: Droid X2 Android Development - xda-developers

Reactions: dkweston

dkweston

May 22, 2012
Visit site
Thanks. I've looked at the Cyanogen stuff and will keep an eye for a prime time version. My understanding is the X2 won't be getting an official version of ICS. Not too big an issue. I have ICS on one of my tablets and can get by with GB.
I think for now my first priority will be to root the sucker and get rid of some of the crapware.
Either way, I'm pretty impressed so far. I've put a couple of apps on it and that was a pleasure. There isn't that much out there for the BB. Also, I'm loving this big 4.3 screen. With the BB it felt like I was looking at a postage stamp.
Thanks again. All advise and suggestions are more than welcomed.

IceDree

= I C E D R E E = ?
Jul 1, 2010
Visit site
Congratulations & welcome to the Android Central community .