Can one buy a Droid Eris without a contract?

cookdav

Nov 7, 2009
mysite.verizon.net
I'm a developer, who really just wants a Droid Eris as a smart PDA
(but does NOT want/need to make phone calls with it).

So, can I pay full price, buy it from Verizon, and use its 'wifi' connection to browse the Internet
(i.e. via my existing home Comcast/wireless-router), and NOT get a Verizon 'contract' and data service? :confused:

TIA...

Dave

Last edited:

equus

Oct 30, 2009
Visit site

So, can I pay full price, buy it from Verizon, and use its 'wifi' connection to browse the Internet
(i.e. via my existing home Comcast/wireless-router), and NOT get a Verizon 'contract' and data service? :confused:

TIA...

Dave
Unfortunatley you cannot, I have an eris that I deactivated and went back to Droid this morning, when I go to main screen on Eris it specifically asks to dial the VZW number to get it activated BEFORE you can even progress thru other screens. that's a bummer. I just was going to switch between devices as I still have a contract with VZW. I think this is a NEW trend that some carriers are starting to do which I think is atrocious as they WANT you to get locked onto them. this then will stifle us to move devices between carriers of CDMA or as you mentioned to ONLY use Wi-Fi.
A work around is IF you already have VZW as your carrier, you can purchase an Eris, then swap devices (ESN's).

cookdav

Nov 7, 2009
mysite.verizon.net
...which I think is atrocious as they WANT you to get locked onto them. this then will stifle us to move devices between carriers of CDMA or as you mentioned to ONLY use Wi-Fi.

A work around is IF you already have VZW as your carrier, you can purchase an Eris, then swap devices (ESN's).

As I suspected. Verizon still 'sux' (and always will, I guess?) :mad: :p

I don't get how you would call that a 'workaround'? They would then REQUIRE me
to purchase DATA SERVICE (which I don't currently have on my 'dumb' LG-8300),
right? :confused: