Finally! I am free!!

Dec 3, 2014
Visit site
YMMV! But for me this was a no brainer. I don't Facebook or twitter. I don't really email from my phone either. Picked this up a few days ago and will never go back to having a cell phone. Had a little trouble with battery life the first day, changed a few settings, and presto! I get full day running in Gear Only mode. I can only get/make calls and texts. Turn off the mobile data which increased the battery life in a huge way! Wouldn't mind seeing a camera in the next version, but willing to go without as a trade off to not carrying the phone.

Dec 3, 2014
Visit site
NO. I work In IT, I sit at a computer all day. Even so, when I had my cell, I was always checking it, mostly for stupid stuff. I never email from my phone anyways. For me, it's part of an effort to escape from "the NET". Personally, at this point I want to disconnect as much as possible when not at work. It makes calls and send texts and I am happy with that.

I genuinely enjoy not carrying a phone. It's a freedom I thought would ever come.

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Apr 23, 2011
Visit site
A flip phone could have done this for way cheaper :).
Phone yes, but consider that on Verizon more everything plan, a gear s is $5/mo, a dumb phone is $30/mo. Over 2 years or comes out to $120 and $720,respectively, so a $600 price difference. A Verizon gear s is $350 with 2 year contract, or a savings of $250. Factor in tax savings for the gear s vs dumb phone, and it should be more.

Sent from my Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 4

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Apr 23, 2011
Visit site
Just to add, the Verizon gear s is $250 on contract now

Active55

Nov 9, 2014
Visit site