Finally Rooting

jjenson

Nov 7, 2009
Visit site
Ok I finally decided to take the plunge tonight. I got root access and the superuser app on the phone. I am not wanting to flash a rom I decided to do the smoked glass rom.

Anyways I am trying to do a backup and I keep getting an error when going through the commands not letting me install busybox or then trying to get nandroid backup made before flashing.

Does anyone know where a detailed how to is. I am not new to things liek this I have modded xbox's and wii's and I am a web developer but never worked with linux and having issues on how this works.

Thanks for any advice.

Anyone have skype I can share my screen to show you what I am doing and maybe you can tell me what I am doing wrong?

Last edited:

SchmidtSV76

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
I just decided to go the root path tonight as well after hearing that the 2.1 update wasn't going to drop this week after all. I had absolutely no experience with rooting or hacking or anything else involving Android or any other OS for that matter. I did some searching and found a couple GREAT videos on YouTube. Go to youtube.com/droidreview . He has 10 or so videos up and I watched his videos on how to root, how to creat a nandroid backup and how to flash a rom and they are SUPER detailed walkthroughs and totally in Layman's terms. I rooted my Droid and installed the Bugless Beast rom and everything is running great. 5 homescreens, overclocked to 1gHz and no problems thus far. The ONLY thing he leaves out is in making the nandroid backup. He has you d/l the Tools zip, but forgets to tell you to unzip it in and put it in the root of your sd card before booting in recovery. Check those out tho and you should be totally set to go.

jmoney00

Nov 22, 2009
Visit site
hey all. im new to this root thing trying to get everything right. I been watching a youtube vids to get everything right but i hit a hard spot.