Hello everyone

joey92

Jan 29, 2012
Visit site
I just orders a virgin mobile optimus slider and I'm new to the fourms. I'm coming from an optimus v and I decided its time for an upgrade Ive learned quite a bit on my journey with my optimus v... now here is my question how would I go about rooting and installing a recovery I know how to flash a rom also with rooting the phone can I use gingerbreak or a similar app and what are everyones overclocking speeds

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Android Central Forums

LeoLawliet

Nov 26, 2011
Visit site
I just orders a virgin mobile optimus slider and I'm new to the fourms. I'm coming from an optimus v and I decided its time for an upgrade Ive learned quite a bit on my journey with my optimus v... now here is my question how would I go about rooting and installing a recovery I know how to flash a rom also with rooting the phone can I use gingerbreak or a similar app and what are everyones overclocking speeds

The OV was the better phone in my honest opinion, you're not gonna get much support for this device anytime soon. But to answer your question, use the LG Esteem root, it works. If not then SuperOneClick should do the trick. As for flashing a recovery, you can flash the modified CWM recovery that's somewhere in these forums, the Gelato rom thread has links and tutorials that should lead you in the right direction. Whatever rom you wanna use is up to you but all we got here is Gelato, Mobster, and AreaSlider. Enjoy the slider, I hope CM7 or CM9 are ported soon enough tho. Then you can really enjoy this device to the fullest. For now it's just a device I wouldn't recommend. Optimus Q has more support, and some of their roms work on the slider, you just need to swap the boot.img to get it to work, tho ADB might break.

Sent from my LG-E739 using Tapatalk 2

LeoLawliet

Nov 26, 2011
Visit site
In that case I'm going to try to port cm7 :)

That would be awesome :D