Help with rooting and installing CyanogenMod on htc aria

alecpierre

Dec 3, 2010
Visit site
Okay I KNOW there has been a lot of post on this but I'm new to rooting and custom roms and its just truely overwhelming with all this information and tutorials and different ways to do it that im having like a system overload. I've decided I want to root and install a CyanogenMod rom on my htc aria. So can someone with an htc aria and has successfully rooted and install a custom rom link me to a clear and concise tutorial where they learned how to do it? Also which version of CyanogenMod would you suggest? I want something super stable and I dont really care to adventure to the roms that have gingerbread unless its pretty much 100% stable and everything works.

ls377

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site
Note that if you've accepted the latest OTA there is no way to root :/

I wasn't aware there was an OTA for the AT&T version recently. I know the Froyo update on the international one changed the HBOOT, but I didn't think that made it to the US version yet.

OP: Can you check what number your HBOOT is? (Volume down+Power when powered off).

Reactions: Jerry Hildenbrand

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
I wasn't aware there was an OTA for the AT&T version recently. I know the Froyo update on the international one changed the HBOOT, but I didn't think that made it to the US version yet.

OP: Can you check what number your HBOOT is? (Volume down+Power when powered off).

You are just the man I'm looking for then. :)

I have no Aria here, and have to rely on second and third hand info. I was under the impression that the last OTA upgraded Hboot to 1.0.2 and made it unrootable.

If I'm wrong, I'm happy about it lol. If I am wrong, and it sounds like I am, feel like writing up a "how-to root the Aria for dummies" post? I'll get it stickeyed up.

The Aria section needs a shepherd :)

ls377

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site