How good is the computational photography?

DanielLoreti

Sep 20, 2018
Visit site
I'm new to Pixel and I hear about this computational photography. I see the Pixel doesn't have a Pro camera mode, so how good is the auto mode? Playing with it in the store, I also didn't see many modes compared to my Galaxy. Is the software really good at detecting things on its own with minimal input?

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site
It doesn't have lot of modes or a good interface as Samsung top tier but it does photography very well and moving objects that normally be blur.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Pixels have never had a lot of different modes, because the computational photography is so good at making your images look as close as possible to real life, without excessive color saturation. You can always apply filters afterwards, if you want the photo to look a certain way.

The main mode that the camera will shift to is Night Sight, if it detects the ambient light isn't enough for a good regular shot. But it can also tell if you're trying to do Astrophotography (which typically requires the phone to be stock still, i.e. on a tripod).

I may be wrong, but I think 3rd party camera apps can't take advantage of the Pixel software.

fuzzylumpkin

Dec 7, 2012
Visit site
Yeah, using a third party app defeats the point of owning a Pixel.

Pixels have possibly the best mobile camera available, but they are basic phones for basic people... if you want every option plus the kitchen sink, buy a Samsung

Reactions: Maljunulo

rvbfan

Jan 17, 2015
Visit site
I'm new to Pixel and I hear about this computational photography. I see the Pixel doesn't have a Pro camera mode, so how good is the auto mode? Playing with it in the store, I also didn't see many modes compared to my Galaxy. Is the software really good at detecting things on its own with minimal input?
Yup

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site