Kernels, Roms and Apps

BigSwoe

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Sorry for the newbie question but here goes...

When flashing kernels, roms, etc. I assume that any installed applications go away. If I'm incorrect let me know but I don't see how they would still be there. Anyway, does Titanium backup allow me to easily put my apps back on after a flash or do I have to go back to the market and install all over again?

Not that I have a ton of apps but want to know what I am getting into.

kapsiakchris

Feb 5, 2011
Visit site
If I may add to this question as I am a newbie myself, would you really want to use titanium, for instance I download a superclean rom and then pull my titanium backup which is going to have all my bloat ware and junk, will it not just put that all back on my superclean rom thus defeating the point?

JaeKar99

Oct 2, 2010
Visit site
Ti Backup is a fantastic application backing up and for restoring applications.

First and foremost become familiar with the 'Batch' operation for Restoring User Apps with data..... NOT all missing applications.. that will install bloatware or apps.

You can completely be selective of what you restore.

Also... Flashing a kernel does not require clearing cache or wipe of the phone. Flashing a ROM does not require a cache clear and phone wipe either but there are some serious complications if you do not. Given you become familiar with Ti BU you can restore you phone with new ROM/Kernel to where it was in less than 30 minutes..

I put EB01 on my phone this am and had all apps restored in less than 15 minutes.

Last edited:
Reactions: BigSwoe

Sta11i0n

Oct 22, 2010
Visit site
Sorry for the newbie question but here goes...

When flashing kernels, roms, etc. I assume that any installed applications go away. If I'm incorrect let me know but I don't see how they would still be there. Anyway, does Titanium backup allow me to easily put my apps back on after a flash or do I have to go back to the market and install all over again?