• Welcome to the all-new Android Central Forums! - We're still moving some things around, so you may see a few quirks here and there, but we're working on getting things fully completed as soon as possible. For now, take a look around, and if you run into any major issues, please let us know in this thread!

moto x Verizon... can't call.

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
So my girlfriend has the moto x from Verizon. And the other day she couldn't send texts that well they would lag or not send at all. And then trying check her voicemail she couldn't dial out. It would say mobile network unavailable. It's been this way for about a week. We tried restarting it, turning it off and pulling the SIM, going in and out of airplaine mode. Everything short of a factory reset or calling Verizon. We know it was nothing with our account as we first though because my HTC one m7 worked fine..... So is there any remedy to fixing this?

Posted via the Android Central App
 

Ry

Moderator Captain
Moderator
Nov 16, 2010
17,656
213
0
So my girlfriend has the moto x from Verizon. And the other day she couldn't send texts that well they would lag or not send at all. And then trying check her voicemail she couldn't dial out. It would say mobile network unavailable. It's been this way for about a week. We tried restarting it, turning it off and pulling the SIM, going in and out of airplaine mode. Everything short of a factory reset or calling Verizon. We know it was nothing with our account as we first though because my HTC one m7 worked fine..... So is there any remedy to fixing this?

Posted via the Android Central App

Does the SIM work in another phone?

Next thing is trying a factory reset.
 

KWKSLVR

New member
Feb 12, 2011
858
3
0
I had a similar issue on my old Galaxy Nexus, turns out the radio's were busted. I suggest trying another sim and then contacting Motorola directly if that doesn't work. They should let her put another Moto X together on Motomaker, then just transfer everything over to the new device and send the old back.

In my experience, this is something a factory reset cannot fix because it's hardware failure.

Posted via Android Central App
 

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
Going to try a factory reset tonight for giggles. Before calling Verizon/ Motorola. We bought it at best buy and we have their insurance but it has a 150 deductible. Was thinking of taking it there especially now cause he screen cracked. ( the problem started before the crack). I can't have without a phone with her commute. So I will post the result.

Posted via the Android Central App
 

Ry

Moderator Captain
Moderator
Nov 16, 2010
17,656
213
0
Going to try a factory reset tonight for giggles. Before calling Verizon/ Motorola. We bought it at best buy and we have their insurance but it has a 150 deductible. Was thinking of taking it there especially now cause he screen cracked. ( the problem started before the crack). I can't have without a phone with her commute. So I will post the result.

Posted via the Android Central App

Swap SIMs between your phones first.

Posted via Android Central App (Moto X)
 

Ry

Moderator Captain
Moderator
Nov 16, 2010
17,656
213
0
Does it matter if she puts her SIM in my HTC one?

Posted via the Android Central App

If she uses her SIM in your HTC One and you notice the same issues, it could be SIM/service related.

If you put your SIM into her Moto X and the issues still occur, it's likely hardware related.

Posted via Android Central App (Moto X)
 

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
Just checked can't switch the Sims the moto x shim is smaller then mine and smaller then any of our old phones

Posted via the Android Central App
 

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
She is writing down phone numbers as we speak to make the factory reset.

Posted via the Android Central App
 

Ry

Moderator Captain
Moderator
Nov 16, 2010
17,656
213
0
She is writing down phone numbers as we speak to make the factory reset.

Posted via the Android Central App

If you're syncing the contacts to a Google account, there should be no reason to write down the phones numbers.
 

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
In paranoid like that lol. Buy the reset is going on as we speak so I'll let the result be know.

Posted via the Android Central App
 

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
Ok well she just went thru the reset and set up and still mobile network unavailable

Posted via the Android Central App
 

pdaniel219

New member
Jan 15, 2012
208
0
0
That's pretty much all you need now. I promise Verizon would tell you to do the reset anyway. That's the first thing they always suggest. You can always try a chat with Motorola on their website too. They have been really good to me. If it's hardware, they might just send you a code to replace it. Good luck either way.

Posted via Android Central App
 

spineshade

New member
Sep 4, 2014
20
0
0
Yeah right now she is using my old droid 4 until we can get it replaced. Thanks for the help guys. I hope her 3rd one will be the charm

Posted via the Android Central App