new to android and not impressed

comblago

Feb 28, 2011
Visit site
hello to all. i recently purchased a coby tablet with android 2.1, i believe. i am still learning how to use it. what bothers me is that there is very little or no support for this device. i am looking for forums specific to this device(i have to use forums, no one will talk to me). so far, android is a disappointment. i miss itunes. does anyone out there know how to uninstall android and install another os on this or any other tablet?:(

RUSH

Dec 6, 2010
Visit site
Hello, comblago.

Welcome to the forum. I'm sorry to hear about how unsatisfied you're with Android on your device. I don't know much about tablets - but I don't think you can change the OS of the device.(don't quote me on this though)

Yourdogsdead

May 15, 2010
Visit site
The fact that is it running 2.1, indicates that it is either lower end or "cheap". 2.1 is very old, especially with honeycomb out. I would recommend that you find a way to upgrade it.

Xopher

Trusted Member
Dec 21, 2010
Visit site
One of the things you have to remember is that (for the most part) Android devices are made to be tweaked. Out-of-the-box, they can be used just fine, but to get the most out of the device, you need to configure it to yourself. I don't know all of the things that are available to Android tablets, but I would think that (coming from a different OS) you would need to spend a little time configuring everything.

Plus, 2.1 wasn't really made with tablets in mind. There are plenty of different keyboards to try, so you can find the one that works best with your device. You can configure the different home screens to your liking. Widgets will help make the screens looks better. If you are coming from iOS, with Apple's devices have a very strict look to them, it can be daunting with how much configuration can be done.