Nexus 4 Audio Stops/Pauses Frequently

inomad

Jun 1, 2010
Visit site
I am new to Android, I recently migrated from the iPhone. I had iPhones since 2007, and am enjoying my Nexus 4 very much.

My Nexus would be nearly perfect, if I did not regularly experience an audio playback glitch.

Randomly, audio playback pauses. The audio sometimes pauses after just 2 minutes of listening, and at other times occurs after 10-15+ minutes of listening... with the screen off. The audio pauses when using any of my multiple pairs of headphones, and even via Bluetooth streaming audio. I believe the issue has also occurred when using the built-in speaker. The audio pauses when streaming via wifi networks and AT&T 3G.
The audio pauses when using the following music apps: Google Play Music, Spotify, SiriusXM, Beyond Pod.

Sometimes the audio resumes when I press the power button. Sometimes I have to unlock the device and the audio resumes. Sometimes I have to press "play" again from the App.

I would love to be able to play uninterrupted audio from my Nexus.

I have searched for a solution many times, but have been unsuccessful. Does anybody have any suggestions?
Thank you

Last edited:

krmurrayjr

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
Just wanted to add that I've had the same problem on my Nexus 4. Playback in BeyondPod and Google Music will pause randomly, and I haven't been able to see any rhyme or reason for it.

I meant to pay attention when 4.3 arrived, just to see if by some chance that fixed this bug, but I can't recall now if it's done it since I installed 4.3.

CoMoNexus

Mar 1, 2013
Visit site
I had a similar problem with Play Music on 4.2.2. The music didn't pause randomly, but the audio level suddenly would drop. Pausing and playing would fix it for a few moments or minutes. Other times it the audio level would go back up on its own after a few seconds.