Noob...looking for ROM/Kernel/easy customizations

Keekers11

Jun 8, 2012
Visit site
Sorry, I'm new at this and I'm trying to do as much research as possible (7+ hours so far) to find out what ROM/Kernel I should try.

I've been looking at the dictionaries, all the how to threads for noobs, etc. I don't need something too fancy. I'm just looking for something w/good battery life and some other fun customizable options. I would love to try some themes and custom soft keys.

It seems like people are nicer on this forum than others (SO MEAN there). Hopefully my question isn't too stupid. Just trying to learn the swing of things! Any help will be appreciated!

(Samsung Galaxy Nexus)

moosc

Grand Master Moosc
Oct 20, 2009
Visit site
best bet either cm9 or AOKP aokp has a lot neat stuff to it. If your all ready rooted with cwr then its as simple as dl the rom plus the gapps package go to recovery back up current set up then install from SD card by looking for the rom u dl after u flash rom go back in install from SD look for your gapps package flash those then reboot that's it

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Reactions: Keekers11

mraviator

Jun 30, 2011
Visit site
I was in your position a few weeks ago. Decided to go with AOKP. Could not be happier. It offers plenty of customizable options. But you don't have to mess with that if you don't want to (but you will ;-)). Just flash it, you won't regret it.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Reactions: Keekers11

Keekers11

Jun 8, 2012
Visit site
Thank you! I noticed there are quite a few versions of AOKP. Does anyone have a link or the model number?

I'm so excited! :D

Do I need to download the Franco kernel with it?

Last edited:

svfd757

Feb 10, 2012
Visit site
I spoke too soon. Do you have any links? The downloads are everywhere...lots of different versions.