Note 3: TouchWiz question

kylesgranma

Member
Mar 21, 2014
5
0
0
Visit site
Very newbie here and new to the Note 3. At 84 my kids urged me to get a mobile phone.I wanted one large enough to see,so the Note 3. I purchased it in November and had no trouble with it (except learning how to use it)Last month this Touch Wiz appeared.Very irritating. Can someone tell me exactly what it is,why do I need it,where did it come from and how can I get rid of it? I sometimes check the "this once" or the "always". Doesn't make any difference,it still comes back. would just like to get to my home page again.I'm not tech savvy,so need baby steps.Thanks for any help.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,380
127
63
Visit site
Re: Touch Wiz question

Very newbie here and new to the Note 3. At 84 my kids urged me to get a mobile phone.I wanted one large enough to see,so the Note 3. I purchased it in November and had no trouble with it (except learning how to use it)Last month this Touch Wiz appeared.Very irritating. Can someone tell me exactly what it is,why do I need it,where did it come from and how can I get rid of it? I sometimes check the "this once" or the "always". Doesn't make any difference,it still comes back. would just like to get to my home page again.I'm not tech savvy,so need baby steps.Thanks for any help.

Welcome to the forums!
TouchWiz (TW) is a User Interface, also called a launcher. Basically, it's a program that helps you interact with the phone. To make an analogy, If you phone was a Limo, you would be the Limo owner, and the launcher would be the Limo driver.

As for what you are experiencing, I am not sure. Did your set up just disappear?
 

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Moderator
Apr 23, 2011
30,108
200
63
Visit site
Welcome to the forums!

Maybe try to turn off easy mode.


Easy mode can be disabled from settings - easy mode


dpham00, Android Central Moderator
Sent from my Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 3 via Tapatalk Pro
 
Last edited:

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Moderator
Apr 23, 2011
30,108
200
63
Visit site
Is this the screen you are seeing? What apps do you see? (touchwiz home, touchwiz easy home, etc)

ezy5e8y8.jpg


dpham00, Android Central Moderator
Sent from my Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 3 via Tapatalk Pro
 

Spencerdl

Well-known member
Jan 10, 2013
1,772
0
36
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central. I got the Note3 for the same reason.....so I could see (smile, the eyes aren't what they used to be). The Touch Wiz is just a launcher for the homescreen set up......ENJOY
 

anon8380037

Well-known member
Dec 25, 2013
5,171
0
0
Visit site
If you are using Easy mode day to day(big simple icons screen below), you don't want to be asked to change to Home. Likewise if you are on the standard Home Mode you don't want it to keep asking you to change. There have been periods in the past where this pop up happened too often. It should not do, but for whatever reason it is now pestering you.

In a previous thread on this, 1 person had success with changing to the other mode then go back and change it back again. Settings - Device - Easy Mode.
A better suggestion from @Z06mike was to go to both Touchwiz apps in Settings - General - Applications Manager - swipe left for the All list, then press Clear Default of the version you Don't want.
Of course taking the battery out first may cure it also, as well as other suggestions here. And you don't need a Limo driver to do it for you. :)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using AC Forums mobile app
 

Attachments

  • 1395419995598.jpg
    1395419995598.jpg
    68.6 KB · Views: 44
  • 1395420027520.jpg
    1395420027520.jpg
    62.6 KB · Views: 44
  • 1395420045861.jpg
    1395420045861.jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 44
  • 1395420064859.jpg
    1395420064859.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 44
Last edited:

kylesgranma

Member
Mar 21, 2014
5
0
0
Visit site
Re: Touch Wiz question

Golydriver97, Thank you for the information. But where was it all those months after I got my phone? It only appeared within the last month.Now it is always there after I swipe the screen
 
Last edited:

Spencerdl

Well-known member
Jan 10, 2013
1,772
0
36
Visit site
MADD54 thank you. I did finally find the Touch Wiz button to slide to off. I hope that works. Your pictures were a great help.

Great job, come back and visit. There are loads of information on Android Central on how to do this and that with many different Android devices. It's a great place to chat with friendly people willing to help....SMILE
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,380
127
63
Visit site
Re: Touch Wiz question

Golydriver97, Thank you for the information. But where was it all those months after I got my phone? It only appeared within the last month.Now it is always there after I swipe the screen

TW was always there, something just caused the default action to come up. Maybe inadvertently activating the easy mode caused this. Hope everything is working better now.
 

anon8380037

Well-known member
Dec 25, 2013
5,171
0
0
Visit site
Gee. Individual thank you's. Makes you feel warm inside. :)

@kylesgranma - come back if anything is not behaving still, Android is not perfect, or just to join in interesting threads here and in Central Lounge. You are so welcome.

Via my Note 3 on AC.
 

Trending Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
945,090
Messages
6,924,155
Members
3,159,658
Latest member
Raju6600