Op2 T-Mobile WiFi calling possibilities

zachthebomb13

Sep 7, 2011
Visit site
So, I already know that WiFi calling is something that needs to be built into the system, and cannot just easily be put in. I also know only devices sold by T-Mobile currently have WiFi calling, and unlocked devices like the opo and moto phones don't. While I'm generally tech savvy, I'm no engineer. So my question is will it ever be possible to get T-Mobile WiFi calling on the op2, and what would it take to get it there?

Ryandroid86

May 1, 2012
Visit site
Tell T-Mobile that you want an app. There is a petition at change dot org/p/t-mobile-make-an-app-for-wifi-calling

At the moment. No roms or apks have been created to include it. It will not be added unless T-Mobile sells the phone (which will not happen for this one)

Bad news for us all

Posted via the Android Central App

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
Sadly this won't happen. T-Mobile builds it into their phones (as you said) and unlocked phones are left out. Even the rooters still haven't found a way to get WiFi calling installed on unlocked devices.

zachthebomb13

Sep 7, 2011
Visit site
I wonder how Apple does it. Did they install special t-mobile software, or build it in themselves? The answer to this question will answer whether it'll work with Android M.

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
I wonder how Apple does it. Did they install special t-mobile software, or build it in themselves? The answer to this question will answer whether it'll work with Android M.

Apple builds it into the OS w/ T-Mobile helping on the side to ensure it works.

wolfnumba1

Feb 20, 2013
Visit site