S7/S7 edge will Lock to First SIM card inserted!?!? Omg say it isn't so!

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Moderator
Apr 23, 2011
30,108
200
63
Visit site
If you are buying a carrier model especially on either a device payment plan or 2 year service contract then it shouldn't be surprising.

All they are doing here is putting multiple carrier software on the phone, so they can sell to multiple carriers with the same software, then whoever you activate it, it will lock it to that carrier. Before on previous phones, you would get a model locked to that specific Carrier anyway, assuming dpp or contract
 

TheIowaKid

Well-known member
Dec 1, 2010
136
2
0
Visit site
Does anyone know if I could buy a Tmo S7e outright, put in a prepaid SIM to activate it, then unlock it, and ultimately put my ATT SIM in? I want to have a ATT bloatware free device, and also one that would bypass ATT for updates.
 

Zendroid1

Trusted Member
Aug 22, 2011
2,087
6
0
Visit site
Does anyone know if I could buy a Tmo S7e outright, put in a prepaid SIM to activate it, then unlock it, and ultimately put my ATT SIM in? I want to have a ATT bloatware free device, and also one that would bypass ATT for updates.

I think you need a T-mobile account to buy it from them and when you do they say they won't unlock it for I think 40 days or maybe 60 even if you pay in full. Of course, a nice conversation with a rep will get it unlocked sooner but I'm not sure you can purchase it without being a customer.
 

dmlv

Well-known member
May 11, 2013
248
0
0
Visit site
Does anyone know if I could buy a Tmo S7e outright, put in a prepaid SIM to activate it, then unlock it, and ultimately put my ATT SIM in? I want to have a ATT bloatware free device, and also one that would bypass ATT for updates.

Yes... If you have a T-Mobile account, buy at full price. When you get the s7 open the "device unlock" app that is already installed. Then follow instructions.
I did this exact thing when I purchased my Note 5.
You can always run into a Corp T-Mobile store if you run into a glitch. But Samsung devices use that app to unlock.

Posted via the Android Central App
 

love4speechless

Well-known member
Feb 24, 2016
283
0
0
Visit site
If this is true it scares me. I will be getting this phone in Australia and plan to go to America with my ldr partner sometime within the time limit of my contract. Does that mean I won't be able to put an American sim card in it? I'm with Telstra
 
Last edited:

TheIowaKid

Well-known member
Dec 1, 2010
136
2
0
Visit site
Yes... If you have a T-Mobile account, buy at full price. When you get the s7 open the "device unlock" app that is already installed. Then follow instructions.
I did this exact thing when I purchased my Note 5.
You can always run into a Corp T-Mobile store if you run into a glitch. But Samsung devices use that app to unlock.

Posted via the Android Central App


Thats what I was afraid of. Man, why wont Samsung just sell me an unlocked North American Region phone without bloat and carrier interruption? Some day they will realize that Apple is doing this part right and copy that too.
 

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Moderator
Apr 23, 2011
30,108
200
63
Visit site
If this is true it scares me. I will be getting this phone in Australia and plan to go to America with my ldr partner sometime within the time limit of my contract. Does that mean I won't be able to put an American sim card in it? I'm with Telstra

This would depend on what restrictions your carrier places on these devices. You would have to check with them. Many carriers lock devices during the contract period, but my carrier (Verizon) does not.
 

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Moderator
Apr 17, 2012
32,278
22
0
Visit site
Thats what I was afraid of. Man, why wont Samsung just sell me an unlocked North American Region phone without bloat and carrier interruption? Some day they will realize that Apple is doing this part right and copy that too.

Yeah you wouldn't be able to buy the phone without being a customer. Also since it would be a new account you would have to wait that time period. If you have an existing account they usually won't make you wait to unlock (I have unlocked phones the first week I bought them).
 

Dubss

Well-known member
Jan 23, 2016
190
0
0
Visit site
Ok so I have ATT and Sprint. My S7 edge us on Sprint if put my ATT sim in my phone it will work in GSM

Posted via the Android Central App
 

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Moderator
Apr 23, 2011
30,108
200
63
Visit site
Ok so I have ATT and Sprint. My S7 edge us on Sprint if put my ATT sim in my phone it will work in GSM

Posted via the Android Central App
It would need to be unlocked first, and also it would work but in a very limited manner, you probably won't get LTE
 

Dubss

Well-known member
Jan 23, 2016
190
0
0
Visit site
OK thanks. I wanted the phone ATT only cause better LTE SPEEDS inboors

Posted via the Android Central App
 

love4speechless

Well-known member
Feb 24, 2016
283
0
0
Visit site
This would depend on what restrictions your carrier places on these devices. You would have to check with them. Many carriers lock devices during the contract period, but my carrier (Verizon) does not.

Guess I'll be using my six plus with a sim card and my S7 Edge (haven't fully decided edge or regular) over wifi. Oh how I love how the apple phones aren't locked lol
 

kappatau808

Member
Dec 31, 2015
7
0
0
Visit site
i don't see what the problem is.. if you buy a phone from tmobile, it's always locked to tmobile anyway. unless you buy full price. pay full price then have them unlock it. i don't know about the 40 days, but i had a friend buy s6 full price and maybe 2 weeks later i used the device unlock app on it and it was unlocked.

also atleast for tmobile there is temporary unlock for 30 days. i don't know how many times you can do this.. all i know is you have to have a tmobile sim inserted to unlock it temporary. some online unlocking sites look like they can unlock tmobile s6. havent tried them yet