Scared as hell to root

1320INC

Oct 29, 2010
Visit site
Ok guys, first of all hello!! I just got my Mez yesterday and have been doing some reading on here. Whats the worst that could happen if I root it? I have NO experience doing anything like this with a cell phone. Then on the other side, what would be my main benefits of the root. I have no insurance on this phone(I never have insured one) Thanks in advance and for the kick butt site!!

:mad:

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Hey there!

First off, welcome to the site, glad you're liking it :)

I want to suggest you go read this: Rooting - is it for me? Some Q&A | Android Central first. Things change and new phones come out, but this pretty much covers the basics.

Another thing I think you should consider -- do you really need to root your phone? Some of us here (including me!) will root anything that holds still long enough, even if it works just fine and nothing needs changed. Don't listen to that nonsense. You decide if you want to try to improve anything, if your happy with what you have, or if you want to risk your warranty.

Now all the responsible adult kind of talk is done :p

I have a Mesmerize here that I'm reviewing for the site. I rooted it, for two reasons:
1. Cause I'm an idiot like that (See second paragraph)
2. Because someone had to see what methods work, and what methods don't.

The Mesmerize is one hell of a phone. US Cellular has one of the best Android phones to date in their line-up now. But it is US Cellular, which means it's never going to be a super popular phone, and the third party development community (the hackers) is going to be very small. There won't be hundred page long forum posts about rooting, or customizing the ROM. There will be some, I'm sure some hackers are using US Cellular for their carrier.