Sim cutting question

Irish1842

Sep 25, 2012
Visit site
I used scissors to cut my T-Mobile sim and it was fine - no sanding needed. First time doing it, so I was a bit nervous. I'm no expert, but I assume you would only need to sand if your cut was slightly off and some of the edges made it too large to fit in the sim card tray.

choclab1

Aug 20, 2012
Visit site
I used a Sim cutter tool and still had to sand just a touch diagonal corner to fit in the tray. But it was very light sanding. Like one or two strokes

Posted from Nexus 6

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
I used scissors to cut my T-Mobile sim and it was fine - no sanding needed. First time doing it, so I was a bit nervous. I'm no expert, but I assume you would only need to sand if your cut was slightly off and some of the edges made it too large to fit in the sim card tray.

Nano SIM cards are slightly thinner than Micro SIM's - about 10% if I recall correctly. Depending on the design of the specific phone and SIM slot, it may be necessary to sand a small amount of material from the side opposite the gold colored contacts to ensure that the SIM will fit into the slot smoothly without getting stuck.

Jeremy8000

Jul 11, 2012
Visit site
Nano SIM cards are slightly thinner than Micro SIM's - about 10% if I recall correctly. Depending on the design of the specific phone and SIM slot, it may be necessary to sand a small amount of material from the side opposite the gold colored contacts to ensure that the SIM will fit into the slot smoothly without getting stuck.

Are Mini SIM cards much thicker? Wondering if I should anticipate any big problems converting that (I have access to a cutter, so not worried about the sides so much as the thickness).

Irish1842

Sep 25, 2012
Visit site

That's good to know in the future, thanks. I guess the Nexus 6 tray is just big enough to handle it without sanding, though I had to be sure to line everything up just right or the sim would pop out.

Benjamin_NYC