Some Android Newbie questions

robindover

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
I am new to the android world, and the Xoom is my first android product. So far there seem to be a few missing apps for this thing to be useful to me.

The ipad currently does most of them.

I am typically not an early adopter, and this may be just early adopter pain.

So, any speculation on the following:

1. I can't connect to the corporate exchange server. Our IT department is not helpful. Ipads do connect.

2. There is not a Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client for the Xoom. There is for iPad.

3. No working xvid/divx player (at least that I can find).

4. No netflix (don't care too much, but still).

These are all features I'd like to have, and for the price of this thing, I would hope it could do the major functions that an iPad can. I do like the OS so far, but the lack of app support is killing me. Maybe it is just too soon for this platform for my uses.

tntdroid

Droiderator
Feb 19, 2010
www.flickr.com
Eary adaptor pains. Might want to use that ipad for a little longer. Things will come in time as they did with the ipad. Remember when that launched apps didn't always play nice till it was worked on. Everyday apps for android tabs are being changed for the better.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

cparker5

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site
I have been feeling the early adopter pain for a viable android vpn since I first got my droid. We have passed the point of early adopter for this issue'

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

robindover

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
I agree they will come in time. But these are the main uses I have for the device. So, I think I will be returning my Xoom. I don;t really need to have all this money tied up in a device that can't do 3 of the 4 fundamental tasks I want it for.