Switch from Moto X to Xperia Z3?

GSOAT

Sep 12, 2014
Visit site
I'm new to Android and bought a Moto X (2nd Gen) a few months ago. I love Android, and the Moto X, for the most part. Pros: Moto voice controls, reading me texts when I'm driving, etc.; Cons: battery and camera.

I was wondering if anyone else made the same switch (Moto X (2nd Gen) to Sony Xperia Z3) at some point, and if so, what's the verdict? I know I'll like the camera and battery better, but what worries me is that I'll miss those Motorola features more than I realize.

Thanks in advance...

Jonathan Lin1

Feb 4, 2013
Visit site
I started with moto x; used it for like 4-5 days and returned it for the z3. The only thing I regret is not getting lollipop right away, which is kinda big to me. I wish I got a nexus 6, but it was too big for me.

The biggest factor for me was moto x battery life sucked.. I had to charge it at least once in the middle of the day. With the xperia z3 I just charge it nightly. I have 12+ synced accounts and don't have to use any battery saving app. Camera was also better on xperia z3.

If you really want pure android, then nexus 6, GPE, or moto x are your options. I'm using the google play launcher on my z3, to try and simulate the pure android experience, and it does a decent job.

The battery life was the big key decider for me. Also, I hated the design of the moto x, the curved back, made it very difficult to text or use phone while setting it on the table. You probably could get a case that prevents that, but I like bumper cases, so that didn't help.

salmanahmad

Jul 30, 2014
Visit site
If battery life and camera are of big concern to you it may be worth switching over as the Z3 has a good camera and good battery life.

You may miss some of the Motorola additions, depending on how much you used them but a few of those features may be found on the Z3 as we'll.