Touchwiz: Will it hinder my S3 Experience?

Zulu Warrior

Jun 12, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to androids, but I have been reading through these forums quite liberally for the past month or so. I'm pretty excited about the GS3, but there's one thing I'm still not too sure about: Touchwiz. I've yet to actually own an android (planning on making this my first) but I have played around with them quite a bit in stores, friends phones etc. Sense 4.0 on the new HTC One series seemed to be pretty smooth and nice looking to me. I haven't had the chance to play with the newest Touchwiz yet, but how does it compare to Sense, and Vanilla android? I wasn't a big fan of the older versions of Touchwiz, so just wanted to see what you guys thought. What's the best android skin in your opinion? Why?

soothslyr

May 26, 2012
Visit site
personally, i prefer Sense 4.0 (the UI for the new HTC phones), but it ultimately boils down to personal preference. i know some that prefer the Touchwiz approach. for me, Sense 4.0 just clicks better because it's visual, simple, and VERY stylish, yet functional at the same time.

as for your question of it hindering your experience, it really boils down to what your personal tastes are of UI tools. Sense 4.0 is VERY visual. it has a lot of little animations, and tends to eat up ram because of it, while Touchwiz does not.

remember that you're going to be using android now. if you don't like the OS, just root your phone, and flash another rom in it's place. this is the power of an open source OS. there are many tutorials here on how to do just that, and tons of support for when you inevitably mess it up lol.

also, if it helps, i am an old ios veteran myself. so i know the growing pains of switching systems. hope this helps

jjb70

Oct 24, 2011
Visit site