Unlocked/Rooted, And Then?

ruh-roh-raggy

Dec 26, 2011
Visit site
OK, so once I got through the unlocking part last night, couldn't help myself but to continue on in Cyber Warrior's guide (thanks!), & rooted my phone.:eek: Since I've never done this before, I hope you'll bear with me with the many questions I know I'll have. When I can actually see how everything plays out, I'm sure it will all make sense.

1. After rooting, is the next step to follow the backup guide & make a backup of my stock ROM, or first go through my apps that need to be set up (contacts, etc., already done through Gmail), & putting my photos back in the Gallery? Once a backup is done, if another one is done later, does it overwrite the first one?

2. How do I know which apps to grant Superuser permission to? This has me concerned; what if I give SU permission to an app that I later determine shouldn't have it?

3. Due to family commitments, I may not have a chance to install a new ROM for awhile, so if VZW happens to push out that elusive update, will I be able to receive & install it since my phone is rooted? Will I lose root if an update is installed?

4. I have MyBackup Pro installed; do you recommend also installing Titanium Backup Pro? Why?

5. Suggestions for a file explorer? Or is it included in something I've already done or will be doing in the backup process?

Sorry for so many questions. I'm a little OCD about trying to do it right the first time, including security of info. on my phone.

2defmouze

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site
OK, so once I got through the unlocking part last night, couldn't help myself but to continue on in Cyber Warrior's guide (thanks!), & rooted my phone.:eek: Since I've never done this before, I hope you'll bear with me with the many questions I know I'll have. When I can actually see how everything plays out, I'm sure it will all make sense.