Warning Newbie, upgrade advice wanted

C90-Go

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site
Hi All,

Just dipped my toe into the world of android a few weeks ago by buying a HTC Wildfire.

I can't see a Wildfire forum, only one for the Wildfire S.

As my question is (at least 2 part) I guess it'll be ok to ask it here.

Pt1) controlling software - The initial learning curve felt quite steep, especially as I had problems with market (apparently commonplace) and I was quite surprised by the variety of permissions the installed programs take for themselves - is there any way to combat this ? Maybe some sort of program firewall governing access ?

Pt2) rooting ? - I'm very new to android and I'd been led to believe it was 'open source' - however it all seems to be tied up as tightly as any MS software I've ever come across, apparently I need to 'root' the wildfire to gain control of it ?

Pt3) upgrade or upgrade - If I manage to root the Wildfire, I can clock it somewhat, possibly use live wallpaper ?, Gingerbread if it's advisable ? and generally have a better android 'experience' - taking this into account, should I persevere with the Wildfire or perhaps buy a more powerful phone ? - I'm not looking for an all out 3D games machine, neither do I want a monster the size of a tablet PC - what reasonable size android phone would be a good step up ? ie. enough difference to justify the outlay

Any help/advice greatly appreciated....

TIA..

:cool:

Moscow Desire

Troubleshooter
Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
Welcome to AC

1. All apps will generally need access to different areas depending on the app. The "warnings" you see, are only there to let you know what it may possibly need to do at times, depending on how you run the app. ex, a game may require permissions to access the internet. A contact manager needs access to the phone, sms, mail etc. Stay away from things like "Premium sms" and similar.

So there's no need to be alarmed.