Why does sound come from my earpiece instead of my speaker?

itfromsg

Apr 5, 2015
Visit site
Sound comes from earpiece instead of speaker

Hi There!

This is my first post in this site and it seems to be the only option I had since having my phone brought in to Samsung Service Center recently.

Problem: I have had my phone since December 2014 and initially had no problems with it but when it was time for me to meddle with the phone after more than a week I found out my rear camera does not focus and will only work in Macro mode. Sent the phone to SSC and they had the rear camera replaced and phone works fine.

I have been using the phone for 2 months then i suddenly noticed the reason I do not hear my alarm in the morning, the sound is coming out of the earpiece and it is too soft I can barely hear it. I tried restarting and testing the alarm and it worked fine again. I didn't notice yet the problem was not only with the alarm not until after I made a call from Facebook Messenger with earphones in. After the call, i played youtube with my earphones and it sounds fine but when I try to remove my earphone to hear it from the speakers it seems very soft. I up the volume but it is already maxed out. I then try to get the phone closer to my ear and found out that there is no sound on the speaker, i tried to find out where the sound is coming from and it was from the earpiece. No wonder it is very soft! I restarted my phone and sound seems fine again. I notice it happening only after a facebook messenger call(which i have daily) with earphones. Without the earphones on FB messenger, it does not happen. Just got the phone from SSC this Saturday and it still is the same problem. They said they changed the earpiece already and updated the software i even had my earphone replaced since it is still under 6month warranty.